This Corner Store  offers more than your daily papers and a carton of milk. Here you can get ridiculously good breakfast and lunch daily which will have your taste buds rejoicing in hearty gourmet goodness prepared and served by the trendiest of wait staff in one of the best looking cafes in Brisbane. This architecturally designed, open plan, tasty as hell haven with its very own vege patch is nestled into the quiet leafy streets of my home suburb, Toowong.

When The Corner Store Cafe opened I felt like all my piggy prayers had be answered by the food gods. I no longer have to wake up hung over on a Sunday and drive in a post-kebab and tequilla shot daze to New Farm or Paddington to get my  hollandaise drenched bacon fix, I can mozy on down the street and feast on some of the best food in Brisbane.

You know a place is going to be good when you can’t decide what to eat – the gourmet but unpretentious and ever changing menu had me perplexed – corn cakes or the Boston beans?….. The bacon swayed me towards the corn cakes and I am glad it did. They were simple but full of flavour, the tomato chutney is a perfect accompaniment. The eggs were poached to perfection – water free, firm but the yolk warm and runny on the inside – crappy cafes please take note. To tie me over I ordered a cold press coffee which is brewed for over 12 hours then mixed with ice and milk – delicious!

My counterparts ordered from opposite sides of the spectrum – one ordered the incredibly indulgent belgium waffles served with house made, roasted pear, chai & date ice cream lathered in maple syrup (sweet tooths starts salivating) and the others opted for a wholesome but healthy avo on rye option served with a delicious tomato and coriander salsa. I tasted both (much to their dismay) and I can confirm that the deliciousness is consistent across the Corner Store.

Just when I thought the menu couldn’t get any better I looked across to the right hand side of the menu, my taste buds went into a tizzy! Cheese burger, pork sandwich, prawn tacos and a beef dip baguette… I was torn. The friendly waitress suggested with overwhelming enthusiasm that I should go for the beef dip, and it was no surprise after tasting it.

Lashings of rare, slow cooked rib fillet tucked into a crusty baguette with caramelised onion, a side of salty roast potatoes and a bowl of horseradish dipping jus… perfection! I ate it quickly as everyone around the table was looking at my meal like a pack of hungry hyenas. Despite being a pig and eating it all myself I still managed to fit in a prawn taco was also a winning dish, surprising because my loyalties usually lie with a hard shell but I would be willing to make an exception here.

The bitter: barely any bitterness here but you might have to wait a little on weekends to get to the good stuff.

The sweet: It is all good but the beef dip has stolen a piece of this pigs heart.

The damage: Minimal a meal and drink at breakfast and lunch is about $20 – $25 and worth every penny!

Oink oink,

Truffle Pig.

Corner Store Cafe – 113 Sylvan Road, Toowong, QLD – www.cornerstorecafe.com.au

